Game client(s) freeze on Win10

Nathanrel

Game client(s) freeze on Win10

#1 » Post by Nathanrel » 16 Jun 2016 16:19

SOLVED: See page 2

Hi all, I have been playing on Primal for about 9 months now and suddenly i have trouble on my Windows 10 PC.
I upgraded :roll: to Windows 10 from 7 last April.

The game client still ran fine after this. Untill one day it gave a black screen, with the game still running in the background (I could hear spells being cast en footsteps from walking my char).

So the client was still running and functioning, it was just the display that froze (imo)
I restarted the game: it instantly froze on the login screen. The werid part was, again.. the cleint was running fine. I could type in my password and press enter and i heard the client logging in. then i pressed enter again and I could hear the Enter World sound, however on my screen still the login screen without anything filled in.

I then alt-tabbed out to find a cause on the web. The second I alt-tabbed back in, I saw a few frames of my char AFK Ironforge before it froze on one of those screens. After testing more i found that indeed the client itself works flawlessly. I walked a few feet, then alt-tabbed out and back in and I found my character at the spot where it had walked to.

So I can play at 1 frame per alt-tab.. no playable framerate ^_^ :lol:

- Then I decided to redownload the client > no succes.
- Then I copied the client via external HDD from my Win7 laptop to my Win10 desktop > no succes either (even weirder because the client on my laptop was a copy from my desktop before it went from Win7 to 10)
- Then I tried a different 3.3.5a client (from dalaran) > no succes
- Then I tried a 2.4.3 client (Excalibur) > no succes, this one also freezes after starting.
- Then I tried different monitors > also no result

The ONLY WoW client that does work is RETAIL. :? (I actually downloaded it to check if it froze too)

Does any of you have an idea how this could be possible?